H. W. "Bill" Hargiss
Youth 1887
College 1905
Marion High 1909
C. of Emporia 1910
KU 1913
KSN 1914
OAC 1918
KSN 1920
KU 1928
Coronado 1941
Brklyn Dodgrs 1942
US Army 1945
Post War 1946
KS A. C. 1952
US Air Force 1960
Retirement 1962
Last Game 1978
Linemen Pulling
Forward Pass
Football Shoe
Offensive Huddle
Defensive Huddle
1926 ESU Football
Kansas Illustriana
MO Valley AAU
NAIA Hall Fame
Honor Due Hargiss
Coaching clinic honor
Kansas Hall Fame
KU Hall Fame
Recognition Banquet
Hargiss' Athletes
ESU Disting. Alum
Kansas Relays
KU Celebrity Classic
Hargiss Scholarship
ESU Hall Honor
ESU Cent. Team
Football Record
Bill Hargiss selected to the Emporia State University Centennial Team, 1997

The Capital-Journal, Saturday, November 15, 1997

EMPORIA -- Twenty-five Emporia State players have been selected to the Hornets' Centennial Team and will be honored at halftime of today's game to conclude the 100th year of football at the school.

More than 300 former and current players were considered for the Centennial Team. More than 350 ballots were submitted, then the top 100 vote-getters were forwarded to a committee whose members totaled more than 120 years of association with ESU's football program.

"This task was very challenging," said Bill Quayle, ESU director of athletics. "You always feel as though you will exclude someone who is deserving, but the committee took its responsibilities very seriously and I commend its members for its outstanding work."

The decade breakdown of selections has one from the 1900s, one from 1910, two from the '20s, two from the '30s, three from the '40s, six from the '70s, three from the '80s and seven from the '90s.

The 25 selections include Fran Welch, ESU stadium's namesake who quarterbacked the team to a 24-1-2 record from 1914-18 and compiled a 116-81-15 mark in 24 years as head coach; Bruce Cerone, a wide receiver from the class of 1970 who was the only two-time first-team Associated Press All-American in school history; Bill Hargiss, the earliest selection from the class of 1909 who also was head coach for 12 years; David Tryon from Carbondale, who ended his career in 1989 as the career rushing leader and Brian Shay, a junior on this year's team who has 4,586 yards to break the Tryon's rushing record.


Dale Burnett      FB    1942
Glenn Campbell    DE    1929
Keith Caywood     RB    1942
Bruce Cerone      WR    1970
Bob Clements      LB-FB 1975
Mike Denimarck    LB    1975
Charlie DiVitto   FB    1971
Wendell Goldsmith OL    1941
Bill Hargiss      RB    1909
Steve Henry       DB    1980
Arthur Hoch       QB    1926
Clifford Hodrick  OG    1991
Adam Hunt         P-PK  1995
Bob Janesko       QB    1973
Harry Kline       P     1938
Matt Koehler      LB    1990
Wade LeDuc        TE    1992
John Lohmeyer     DL    1974
Elvin McCoy       QB    1932
Brian Shay        RB    current junior
Kevin Sterba      OL    1991
David Tryon       RB    1989
John Waldbeck     OT    1990
Fran Welc,        QB    1918
Greg Zickefoose   RB    1981